Minnesota Multitype Library Systems

Minnesota’s Legislative Statute 134.351 established the Multitype systems in 1979. State Library Services and School Technology, within the Minnesota Department of Education, administers the program under the Statute and Rules 3530.2600. State aid appropriations provide the bulk of the funding.

There are seven multicounty mutitype library systems:

Arrowhead Library System (ALS)

Central Minnesota Libraries Exchange (CMLE)


Northern Lights Library Network (NLLN)

Prairielands Library Exchange (formerly SAMMIE)

Southeast Library System (SELS)

Traverse de Sioux Library Cooperative (TdSLC)